Jen’s September Post (Late Bloomer to Art)

10 Oct

I have always enjoyed making art and art history; however, I never thought of myself as an artist to until I was in high school.  I made doodles and would draw for school like most people.  When I started taking summer classes at the Art Institute in Chicago, and I realized how much I enjoyed drawing and the over all creative process.  Being around the works of from the past only nurtured my new interests.

My class would make a lot of trips to the Art Institute’s collections to see examples of portraits and landscapes.  I had the privilege to frequent the museum for free with the help of my student ID.  I would go to see the impressionist collection and study how the artists would use color.  Looking at the surrealists I could see how they used art to transcend to worlds beyond the present one.

I felt like I was directly learning from the masters.  I was motivated to keep learning.  Today I’m still motivated to look at the works of the past and learn what I can use to better my work.

6 Responses to “Jen’s September Post (Late Bloomer to Art)”

  1. anmabell October 11, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    I think it’s great how you’ve found a direct path from the past to the present. I agree in the fact that I think the past holds a lot of answers for us as artists in the present.

    • jennljohnson10 October 15, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

      Thank you. It’s easy to dismiss the old, but it’s so important to our present and our future.

  2. hartleymmiller October 13, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    You’re very lucky to have lived in a city that has so much focus in the arts! Where I came from (the Clearwater area of Florida), we didn’t have many opportunities to see great art for free. However, the Dali Museum (in St. Petersburg) was pretty close so I would go as often as possible. We didn’t have student IDs in high school, however, and I always had to pay the big bucks, for a 16-year-old kid anyway. I’m jealous!

    • jennljohnson10 October 15, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

      Chicago is an awesome place for the fine arts and public art space too. From Florida uh? If you already haven’t get ready for winter. Lol.

  3. chernandez11 October 26, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    I could relate this post to myself, chicago great city with great art museums, awesome sculptures the bean and columns at the parks across Michigan Ave. Something that i enjoy during high school wast to attend the art museum once a month as a field trip and getting in for free.

    • jennljohnson10 October 27, 2010 at 11:51 am #

      Da Bean! One of my favorite places in the city. Getting in anywhere free is awesome.

Leave a Reply

