Danielle’s September Post

3 Oct

For as long as I can remember, art has been a part of my life.  I have always been an artistic person and I credit that talent to my father.  He is the first artist I have ever known.  Because of him, I am at Columbia.  From him, I learned to draw and how to take photographs.  I can’t even remember the first time I held an SLR camera, I was that young.  As a child, I remember drawing random things and as I got older I remember my drawings getting better and better.  I would watch my dad in amazement; I would be in awe at how well he could draw, and I remember wishing I could be as good as him.  I didn’t really begin to focus my talent until the fourth grade, when I realized that I loved to design clothing.  It was then that I really tried to become better at what I did.  I would draw every day, sometimes for hours.  I still have my original drawings to this day.  I discovered how serious I was about designing once I got to high school and took a fashion design class there. I was encouraged by both parents to pursue designing.  My parents showed me old magazines and old fashion photography books for inspiration, and by my senior year I was certain that art school was for me. I realize now, after a few years of growth and misguided decisions, that art will always be a part of me.  It’s not just a fad, or something I can just turn my back on.  It is something that I can incorporate into my life every day and something that I can be proud to make a career out of.

One Response to “Danielle’s September Post”

  1. anmabell October 11, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    I think this is such a heartfelt post about you as a person and your art. It’s refreshing to hear that there are parents out there that do support their child’s dream of becoming an artist and I think for that you are very lucky.

Leave a Reply

