Hartley’s September Post

29 Sep

Art has always been a part of my life. I was very fortunate to have grown up in a family with a healthy appetite for travel. I’ve been to Europe multiple times and have seen some of the greatest works of art in living history. At first, I hated being in cities where no one understood what I was saying. I hated not being able to read the menus. I hated walking around for hours and hours. But little by little, I began to appreciate what I was seeing. I started to realize that not many people would have the opportunities that I was afforded. I started to look at brush strokes closer and closer. I was about 12 when I started to really love art. Not art in a sense of art boxes and drawing my pet or pretty flowers, but <i>real</i> art.

Growing up with an artistic mother always helped. She didn’t mind spending money on new art supplies or frames for my newest masterpieces. She always fostered my love for art and helped it to grow. She encouraged me to travel when I was done with school to see all the things that I’ve seen with “new eyes.” I still haven’t been able to travel much (as I’m in my fifth year of college), but I will. I plan on turning all of my past experiences and my 50,000 different art history classes into <i>new</i> experiences, and I couldn’t be more excited.

One Response to “Hartley’s September Post”

  1. J Wilson September 30, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Well, would love to hear about your travels sometime! How lucky you are! Thank your kind parents…

Leave a Reply

